26th Prize Giving Ceremony on 9 October 2017 in Berlin (hosted by the World Psychiatric Association and the German Society for Psychiatry, Psychosomatics and Neuropsychiatry)

The Anna-Monika Prize is awarded bi-annually to clinical and/or basic scientists who have made major contributions to the understanding of the underlining neurobiological mechanisms of depression and who have advanced the pharmacological options for affective disorders. In 2017, the Anna-Monika-Foundation was again privileged to honour two leading researchers for their groundbreaking work in the field.

This year’s Anna-Monika award winners are Prof. Eero H. Castrén, Neuroscience Center, University of Helsinki, Finland, USA. and Prof. Michael Bauer, Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, Technical University Dresden, Germany.

Prof. Castrén received a first prize for his outstanding research in investigating the effects of neuronal plasticity and neurotrophic factors on the adult brain and their role in the mechanisms of action of antidepressant drugs. His research has revealed a critical role of experience-dependent neuronal plasticity in the mechanisms of antidepressant drug action and a possibility to use pharmacology to reactivate a developmental-lime plasticity state in the adult brain.

Prof. Castrén serves as Director of the Neuroscience Center at the University of Helsinki, Finland.

Prof. Bauer received a second prize for his outstanding research in understanding pathophysiology of thyroid function in depression and bipolar disorder and the investigation of treatment algorithms in depression. Particularly, he investigated the effects of thyroid hormones on brain glucose utilization by means of positron emission tomography (PET) in depressed patients. His research shed light on the utility and the mechanisms of action of thyroid hormone supplementation in depression.

Prof. Bauer is Director of the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, Technical University Dresden, Germany.

Since its inception in 1965, the Anna-Monika-Foundation (http://www.anna-monika-stiftung.com) has achieved world-wide recognition within the scientific community dedicated to research in major depression. The major goal of the Foundation is to motivate researchers to participate in its bi-annual prize competition. To date, many outstanding researchers with significant contributions to scientific knowledge about depression have been identified and so honored. The list of laureates from Europe and the USA reads like a “Who’s Who” of prominent researchers in depression research giving the Anna-Monika-Prize wide spread international recognition. Respected scientists from around the world have contributed greatly to the success of the Foundation through their voluntary service as members of the Prize Jury.

_MG_2726 überarbeitet

l. to r.: Prof. E. Castrén, Prof. R. Rupprecht,
Prof. M. Bauer, M. Bommers


Slides on the Top:
Monika Rief-Rehme
Committee of Jugdes’ Meeting in 1975 in Dortmund
Professor Dr. Alan Schatzberg – Prize Award Winner 2013
Prize Award Ceremony 2015 in Amsterdam