1st Prize

Prof. Dr. Ned H. Kalin

Department of Psychiatry, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Madison, U.S.A.

Investigations of HPA axis regulation and amygdala function in primate animal models related to depression and anxiety.

1st Prize

Prof. Dr. Carmine M. Pariante

Department of Psychological Medicine, Institute of Psychiatry, Kings College London, London, Great Britain

Translational studies related to neurogenesis induced by antidepressants and response prediction


l. to r.:  M. Bommers, Prof. R. Rupprecht, Prof. N. Kalin,
Prof. C. Pariante, Dr. J. Stolze


1st Prize


Prof. Dr. Alan F. Schatzberg

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, U.S.A.

Investigations on the role of antiglucocorticoid treatment for psychotic depression


l. to r.: Prof. R. Rupprecht, Prof. A. Schatzberg,
Prof. F. Holsboer, M. Bommers, Dr. J. Stolze


1st Prize

Prof. Dr. Eric J. Nestler

Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York, NY, U.S.A.

Investigations of the molecular determinants of depression on the bases of the Social Defeat Model.

2nd Prize

Prof. Dr. Rainer Rupprecht

University Regensburg
93042 Regensburg, Germany

Allosteric modulation of ligand-gated ion channels as a novel principle for the treatment of depression and anxiety.


l. to r.: Dr. J. Stolze, Prof. B. Bogerts, Prof. E. Nestler,
Prof. R. Rupprecht, Prof. I. Heuser, M. Bommers


1st Prize

Prof. Dr. Aaron T. Beck

University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.

Lifetime achievements in the defining the cognitive biases and distorted interpretations of events which represent the core psychological problem in depression and contribute to its typical symptoms, and using this knowledge to develop cognitive therapy which has helped millions of people suffering from depression.

2009 Prof Beck

Prof. A. Beck (m), Prof. F. Henn (r)

1st Prize

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Sanacora
Prof. Dr. John H. Krystal

Yale University School of Medicine
West Haven, CT, U.S.A.

Investigations on amino acid neurotransmitter systems contributions to the pathophysiology and treatment of major depressive disorder.

2009 Profs Sanacora Krystal

l. to r.: Prof. R. Rupprecht, Prof. J. Kornhuber, Prof. G. Sanacora,
Prof. J. Krystal, M. Bommers


1st Prize

Prof. Dr. Alexander H. Glassman

Professor of Psychiatry
Columbia University
Chief of Clinical Psychopharmacology
New York State Psychiatric Institute
1051 Riverside Drive
New York NY 10032

Research in depression and heart disease


l. to r.: Prof. F. Henn, Prof. I. Heuser, M. Rief,
Prof. A. Glassman, Prof. A. Honig


1st Prize

Prof. Dr. Elliot S. Gershon

The University of Chicago
Department of Psychiatry
5841 S. Maryland Ave. MC3077
Chicago, IL 60637

Research on the role of genetics in bipolar disorder