Prof. Dr. Hans Ågren

University Hospital,  Uppsala University, Uppsala, Schweden

Research in the subject of monoaminergenenic regulation mechanisms in depression aided by C1l marked 5-HTP and positron emission tomography (PET).

2nd Prize

Dr. Beth J. Hoffmann

Laboratory of Cell Biology, National Institute of Mental Health
Bethesda, U.S.A.

Research in the subject of cloning and gene expression of the serotonin transporter in the brain, which opens up a new path to the research into antidepressants.

Dr. Hans Förstl

Zentralinstitut für Seelische Gesundheit, Mannheim, Deutschland

Research in the subject of clinical and neuropathological correlation of depressive disorders in Alzheimer dementia.

3rd Prize

Dr. Paul Linkowski, Ph.D.

Hôspital Erasme, Cliniques Universitaires de Bruxelles, Belgiques

Research in the subject of genetic influences on EEG parameters of sleep and the human Circadian rhythm.


l. to r.: Dr. H. Förstl, Prof. H. Helmchen, Dr. B. Hoffman, M. Rief,
Prof. H. Ǻgren, Dr. P. Linkowski


2nd Prize

Prof. Dr. Norman E. Rosenthal
Dr. Thomas A. Wehr

National Institute of Mental Health, Bethesda, U.S.A.

Work on the nosological definition and causes of seasonal affective disorders and the development of light therapy.

1991 Rosenthal

1991 Wehr

M. Rief, Prof. B. Hess,
from above to below: Prof. N. Rosenthal / Prof. T.A. Wehr

2nd Prize

Prof. Dr. Giorgio Racagni

Centro di Studio e Ricerca di Neurofaracologia, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italia

Work on the interaction of antidepressant treatment with a phosphorylation of MAP-2.

1991 Racagni

l. to r.: M. Rief, Prof. B. Hess, Prof. G. Racagni

2nd Prize

Prof. Dr. Sofia Avissar
Prof. Dr. Gabriel Schreiber

Beer-Sheva Mental Health Center, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Beer Sheva, Israel

Work on the interaction between anti-bipolar and antidepressant treatment with receptor-coupled G proteins.

1991 Avissar_Schreiber

l. to r.: Prof. G. Schreiber, Prof. S. Avisar,
M. Rief


1st Prize

Prof. Dr. R. M. Post

National Institute of Mental Health, Bethesda, Maryland, U.S.A.

Systematic clinical research into the detection of antidepressant efficacy and differential indication of carbamazepine as well as for a novel neuroadaptive conceptualisation of the intermittently progressive course of affective disorders.

2nd Prize

Prof. Dr. G. Laakmann

Psychiatrische Klinik der Universität München, Deutschland

Work that is distinguished by accurate methodology and innovative approaches and that relates to the effect of psychopharmaceuticals onto the hormonal secretion of the frontal lobe of the hypophysis in non-psychiatric and in depressive patients.

3rd Prize

Prof. Dr. H. Wachtel

Neuropsychopharmakologie, Schering AG, Berlin, Deutschland

Trailblazing work in the development of antidepressants via their effect on postsynaptic, intracellular regulation mechanisms.


l. to r.: Prof. G. Laakmann, Dr. H. Wachtel, Prof. B. Hess,
M. Rief, Prof. P. Kielholz, Prof. R. Post