2nd Prize

Prof. Dr. Jerzy Vetulani

Prof. Dr. Robert H. Belmaker

Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Pharmacology, Krakow, Poland

Jerusalem Mental Health Center, Jerusalem, Israel

Research into the biochemical foundations of the mechanisms of action of antidepressant therapeutic methods.


3rd Prize

Dr. Per Bech

University of Copenhagen, Psychochemistry Institute, Kopenhagen, Dänemark

Statistical work concerning the testing and improvement of psychometric methods in depression Research.


l. to r.: Prof. J. Vetulani, Prof. R. Belmaker,
Prof. B. Hess, Dr. P. Bech, Prof. J. Kopin


1st Prize

Prof. Dr. J. Mendlewicz

Université Libre de Bruxelles, Hôpital Erasme, Bruxelles, Belgique

Comprehensive clinical-genetic and biochemical-endocrinological research in the area of affective psychoses and their treatment by means of drug therapies.

1st Prize

Prof. Dr. S. Z. Langer

Institut de Biologie Laboratories d’Etudes et de Recherches Synthelabo, Paris, France

New findings on the imipramine bond in the brain and thrombocytes as a new marker for Depression.

3rd Prize

Prof. Dr. B. J. Carrol

University of Michigan, Mental Health Research Institute, Ann Arbor, Michigan, U.S.A.

Research with the Dexamethasone suppression test for the differentiation of depressive syndromes.

3rd Prize

Dr. A. Wirz-Justice
Dr. Thomas A. Wehr

Psychiatrische Universitätsklinik, Basel, Schweiz
National Institute of Health, Bethesda, Maryland, U.S.A.

Work on disorders of the rhythmical process of neuroendocrine regulation processes as possible causes for depressive diseases.

3rd Prize

Prof. Dr. J. May

Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Pharmacology, Krakow, Poland

Work in the area of experimental research into the mechanisms of effective antidepressants.


l. to r.: Prof. B. Hess, Prof. S. Langer, M. Rief, Dr. A. Wirz-Justice,
Prof. J. Mendlewicz, Prof. J. May, Dr. T. Wehr, Prof. B. Carrol, Prof. P. Kielholz


1st Prize

Prof. Dr. Solomon H. Snyder

John Hopkins University, School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland, U.S.A.

Work concerning the problem of the neurotransmitter receptor interaction and their significance for the effect of therapeutic drugs in psychoses.

2nd Prize

Prof. Dr. Max Fink

State University of New York at Stony Brook, Health Sciences Center – School of Medicine, Stony Brook, New York, U.S.A.

Comprehensive monograph on electroconvulsive shock therapy and its position in current depression therapy.

3rd Prize

Prof. Dr. Elliot S. Gershon

Biological Psychiatry Branch  National Institute of Mental Health, Bethesda, U.S.A.

Fundamental research into the development of a novel method in depression Research.


l. to r.: Prof. M. Fink, Prof. E. Gershon, M. Rief,
Prof. S. Snyder, Prof. P. Kielholz


1st Prize

Prof. Dr. Sir  Martin Roth

The Royal Victoria Infirmary Dept. of Psychological Medicine, Newcastle upon Tyne, Great Britain

New and ground-breaking research on the complex nosological problems of affective disorders.

2nd Prize

Prof. Dr. Fridolin Sulser

Tennessee Neuropsychiatric Institute, Nashville, Tennessee, U.S.A.

Research on the reactions of a noradrenaline sensitive adenylate cyclasis in the limbic system of rats on pharmaceuticals of depressive and antidepressant effect.